Marketing America

4 Jul

Have you noticed the growing number of ad’s advertising American travel destinations recently? Well, ok there are two that I have seen.. but that’s a heck of a lot more than I have ever seen in my life time on Aussie TV.

  • Disneyland
  • California State
With the American dollar being so darn low, America is finally becoming an affordable travel destination for Australians who never before imagined being able to afford travel to “the greatest nation in the world” (as all American’s believe). I remember asking my parents to take me to Disneyland when I was a kid and being told in no uncertain terms that they would never be taking me to Disneyland because America is very expensive.

Well, seems like kids these days may have more of a chance than I did. Thanks failing American economy! What kid isn’t going to harass their family to take them to Disneyland now? I’m guessing that modern kids probably don’t even know who Mickey and Minnie are so this campaign is building the young ones knowledge of the traditional brand too.

Tonight I noticed an ad for the state of California based around Prince William and Kates visit. It states that they are only visiting the state for 3 days so how are they going to see all the best parts?


So good one America for seeing us as a cashed up nation of people that you want to get chummy with. I love America, I lived there for a year so I’m pretty darn happy that the dollar is so low…. just a shame I won’t be able to go back there for a while. Thank God for online shopping if I need some mega cheap clothes, make up or just about anything.

Note to self: Perhaps buy a bunch of USA Dollars while they are dirt cheap and hang on to them for a rainy day in many years time when they may actually be worth something again.

Leave a Reply

