Will you hold the product placement against her? – Britney Spears Hold It Against Me Clip

19 Feb

WHOA!

There have been sneak peak teasers released of Britney Spears new single Hold It Against Me for weeks to build the hype around the video.

The singer’s manager tweeted, “The first teaser video will give more insight into the world premiere…get pumped! The video will be epic.” “Hold It Against Me” is from Britney’s new album Femme Fatale, which is due to be released on March 15.

Epic you say… Epic PRODUCT PLACEMENT! I just saw the new video clip. She must have really fallen off the wagon and now the record company is trying to line her bank account once again with blatant product placement.It’s not even subtle! I wonder how much these companies paid for this?

 

Britney Spears perfume product promotion hold it against me

Britney's new perfume

 

Britney Spears make up product promotion hold it against me

Make Up For Ever. Cake it on girls and you too can be as cool as Britney

 

Britney Spears Sony product promotion hold it against me

Sony Computer Monitor - Looks like it's touch screen too

 

Britney Spears Plenty Of Fish Dating product promotion hold it against me

Plenty Of Fish Dating Website. Oh hasn't Britney found a hottie. Since the majority of her fans are probably lonely, 20 something singles, this ad could work for the company.

I guess she doesn’t really tour much these days so with two kids and her hungry mouth to feed, money has to be made somewhere. See my previous post about modern music income streams.

It’s a pretty 90’s esque song and video which is interesting. There is those organ type sounds featured on every song from 1991-1995 (think Corona- Rhythm Of The Night and Snap – Rhythm is a Dancer… seems they really liked rhythm in the early 90s), and the back up dancers on a stage surrounded by lots of flashing things is also a vintage type look I think. I really like early 90’s techno with the organ, fake drum sounds I must say. Fun dance songs. But this is no Rhythm is a Dancer!

So do I hold it against her? I guess not because money has to be made and CD sales wont do it these days. She has to fight her nemesis Lady Gaga some how. What I do hold against her is just how blatent these product placements are. At first I thought I was watching an ad with the many fast camera angles displaying product. They could have at least tried to slip the products in subtly but I guess at least this way gets people talking about the absurdity of it all.

 

Britney Spears hold it against me video 2011
Where are Britneys’ eyebrows? Oh hello 1999 ‘Hit Me Baby One More Time’ Britney on the screen on the right. Is this a call to new fans to buy a back catalogue release?

 

Watch the video for yourself here:

Note to self: Try and sell my Hit Me Baby One More Time CD Single to some 11 year old girls for $50 by telling them how rare and vintage it is. It also has a karaoke track!

One Response to “Will you hold the product placement against her? – Britney Spears Hold It Against Me Clip”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Will you hold the product placement against her? – Britney Spears Hold It Against Me Clip « Marketing Nabbed! -- Topsy.com - February 19, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by marketingnabbed and Artspoint, marketingnabbed. marketingnabbed said: Will you hold the product placement against her? – Britney Spears Hold It Against Me Clip http://wp.me/pFOp5-6o […]

Leave a Reply

