Marketing yourself, the hardest thing

8 May

It’s hard for anyone to market themselves, but it’s a whole different level when marketing is your business.

I recently saw this ad pop up on the side of Facebook.

 Wow! I thought. This guy is smart and on the ball. He is obviously very confident in his abilities, which he seems to have every right to be, this is great! I clicked on the link and had a look at his resume and blog he has set up for himself. Click here

What a nice resume too!  And what do you think about the touch of personality with the ‘I also like coffee, cookies and wearing flip – flops” comment at the side? This stands out and I sure would hire him! Managers should see his effort and creativity and hire him straight away! His flow chart is imaginative and different to anything anyone else in the resume pile would have. That is important, and especially important for marketers who must be able to showcase their sales and creative abilities in a unique way.

This guy is American which is easy to tell . America’s are very flamboyant and savvy sales people. I learnt some interesting tricks when I was studying in Indiana for a year, however, living in Australia mean’s I can’t use a lot of them because we are very different.

Americans like to be sold things in a polite, confident and in your face kind of way. Australian’s are very wary of sales people, don’t really like confident people and aren’t afraid to give jealous/negative feedback .

So how do you market yourself effectively? Well if we are talking resumes I think it is key to tailor your resume specifically for the company you are applying to. If it is an accounting firm, make it a bit more traditional and facts based. If it’s for an advertising firm then go crazy with personality!

When I had the job interview for my current position I was still at university. I was close to graduating however. I was asked the question

 “On a scale from 1-10, 1 being nothing and 10 being lots, how much do you think you know about marketing?”.

“I would say about a 6. I must be honest and admit that I really don’t know everything there is to know about marketing because 1. I have not completed University and 2. I will never know all there is to know about marketing. I can only try my hardest.”

The interviewer was stunned. He told me that was the best and most honest answer he had heard from anyone the whole day.

So I think honesty is key, by big noting myself and my abilities I would have given a false representation of myself, my morals, my personality and most importantly my ability. Due to my honesty and willingness to learn, I was given the best job with the best company.

So back to resumes. I’m thinking that I should jazz mine up a little. Make it less boring and perhaps use one of the interesting personal marketing stories I was told when I was in America to make myself stand out. It might just work!

Note to self: I’m not sure if chewing spearmint flavoured chewing gum can be considered an interest. Don’t put that on your resume.

6 Responses to “Marketing yourself, the hardest thing”

  1. Craig May 8, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Thanks for the kind words in your blog post. I’m the creator of the ad campaign and flow chart and I greatly appreciate the helpful information you followed with in the post. Please feel free to pass the resume on to anyone that you think would be interested. I’m looking to move to Australia in the next two months if I can find a job.

    The direct link to my flow chart and resume is:
    http://craigbaute.com/wordpress/?page_id=11

    E-mail:
    Bautecm@gmail.com

    • belindabel May 9, 2010 at 9:16 am #

      Hi Craig! Great to hear from you and thanks for checking out my post. Congratulations on your marketing efforts! Can I ask you if it cost you a lot to do the Facebook ads and have you found it effective in obtaining work? Good luck with everything! 🙂

      • Craig Baute June 18, 2010 at 3:06 am #

        I ran the ads for a a little longer than two weeks in Australia. I gained some attention, but nothing serious. The ads do get expensive and I always used my daily budget of $6.00. I’m guessing I could have easily doubled the budget and still had enough clicks on the ad. I will note Australia had a higher CTR than other regions in the US, San Francisco and Austin.

        I have since revamped my site to better represent my credentials directly on the site instead of a PDF flow chart and resume. I’m working on a new blog series, Marketing Research Built into Your Daily Routine, that will also explain my thoughts and philosophy on marketing. When I ran the flow chart ad I had a very basic site that only had my resume and about me section so my revamped site might be more effective.

        I would like to move to Australia soon. I work a lot on marketing contract or would like a job. I’m probably going to start the ads again once I have completed updating my site. If you have any connections or advice on how to find work in Australia (full time or contract) I would greatly appreciate the help. It is a beautiful country with a lot of innovative people with great potential. I would love to be a part of it.

        Cheers,

        Craig

      • belindabel June 18, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

        wow thats really interesting. Your ideas sound great and your website looks fabulous!

        Good luck getting a job in Australia in marketing when even Australians can’t find one!!! I want to go to America and work because there seems to be a myriad of wonderful job opportunities over there. Americans are also very good sales people with great ideas that Aussies are sometimes too shy to try. If you know of any good jobs in USA let me know!!! US visas are a giant pain in the butt for Aussies so thats another draw back. I’ll be visiting my friends in a few weeks in Indiana and around so I’m gonna keep my ear out then.

        I guess one thing you need to know about most Aussies is that we are not a fan of over politeness. Don’t sir or maam anyone. Also, nobody likes people who are too overly confident. I think it’s good to be confident, and you seem to have enough talent to warrent confidence, but too much and people just wont believe you.

        I seriously wish you all the best because you seem really really talented and very keyed in to what’s going on around the place! 🙂 Keep in touch!

  2. Karl R. Wood May 8, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    If you think you can get ideas from others (‘imitation is the sincerest form of flattery’).have a look at Barbara Kantor on the ‘Net.She has a single product for sale-iridescent arm bands for pedestrians.she somehow managed to get free exposure on pbs tv. i dont know if tv has helped much tho with sales. .whilst she told me she had 100’s of emails re where to buy them-including from aus.she works alone,having put off several employees due to u.s. downturn.she did not have her product in stores and so could not make sales based on interest generated from tv.Co-ordination is vital.eg other groups with web pages display product and when interest is generated thru news.tv etc people can buy eg. t-shirts .caps etc..this being done in politics with u.s. elections coming up,eg. g.o.p. and democrats and the ‘tea party’ republicans.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Marketing yourself, the hardest thing « Marketing Nabbed! -- Topsy.com - May 9, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Craig Baute. Craig Baute said: My flow chart resume was just mentioned in a blog about marketing from Australia. http://bit.ly/bb661e. Keep passing it on everyone! […]

Leave a Reply

