Pop culture sing songs – Music marketing product

27 Nov

As I was listening to the wonderful classic album American Thighs by Veruca Salt the other day, I pondered upon the lyrics to a song called Number One Blind. I figured that name wasn’t making any sense at all with the lyrics I was hearing:

Veruca Salt – Number One Blind

Be my blind.
Be it all the time.
Be it night or day.
Take my sun away.
Away… Levolor, which of us is blind?
Levolor left me in the dark
Levolor, I can’t see a thing but you.
Is it morning? It is time.
It is time, Oh, oh.
Blind me, please.
I am on my hands and knees.
I can only pray.
Take my sun away.
Away… Levolor, which of us is blind?
Levolor left me in the dark
Levolor, I can’t see a thing but you.
Is it morning?
Away… Levolor, which of us is blind?
Levolor left me in the dark
Levolor, I can’t see a thing but you.
Is it morning?
Levolor. [x4]

LEVOLOR. WHAT OR WHO IS LEVOLOR? I actually thought she was singing Dumbledore or Level Door. So I googled Levolor. It turns out that Levolor is a brand of window blinds in America. INTERESTING!

Now the title made sense. Number One Blind. So they are saying Levolor is the number one blind brand (probably their marketing slogan at the time), and twisting it into a dark love song about these Levolor blinds cutting out the sun, or this guy’s love or attitude blocking out the singers emotional sun. It’s good. I like it a lot. LINK TO YOUTUBE

It got me thinking about other songs that mention brands in them.

  • The Kinks – Lola (Coke)
  • The Beach Boys – All Summer Long (Coke)
  • The Beatles – Come Together (Coke)
  • Death Cab For Cutie – Soul Meets Body (Greyhound Buses)
  • Aqua – Barbie Girl (Barbie)
  • The Moffatts – Love (Websters – Dictionary)
  • Regina Spektor – That Time (Parliament, Marlboro and Camel brands of cigarettes)
  • Wesley Willis – Rock and Roll McDonalds (McDonalds)… I had to add him in. Love it!

As you can see, Coke gets mentioned a lot of times. Is this because it is so deep in our psyche? Is their branding that good? Or is it their distribution? I’d say all of those combined. It is seen as a “groovy” drink and so it’s ok to sing a song about that apparently. Coca Cola also has a cute ring to it.

If there is a positive pop culture brand reference in a song I wonder if it drives sales subconsciously. I also wonder if any musicians have “sold out” and been paid to add in a brand into their song. That would be interesting to know. Nobody likes to be marketing to, but if people think a reference or recommendation is truthful they will eat it up from my experience.

Note to self: Write a song and include ‘Cadbury’ so I can be paid in chocolate!

Leave a Reply

